Skip to content
February 13, 2016 / Fray

Fred Yehi vs. Colby Corino from TWE on 2/13/2016

Post by The Fray Movement:

This turned out to be one heck of a weekend for one Fred Yehi. Steals the show on Friday night in the match of the night for FIP and ends up in Chattanooga the next night going thirty minutes with Colby Corino.

Fred’s definitely a guy who’s name has picked up some steam online in the last year or so. He had an exceptional Best of 5 series with Slim J last year before NWA Anarchy shut down. Recently he’s worked some EVOLVE and FIP shows and I’m hoping he starts getting more of a presence nationally.

Colby Corino works a lot of the Carolina and Tennessee indies as well as being a featured player in the Steve Corino/BJ Whitmer feud playing out weekly on Ring of Honor TV.

I did not realize Colby Corino had this match in him.

And that’s not meant as a slight to him at all. I came into this match expecting Fred to be his usual great self and it would be fun because I like what little I’ve seen of Colby in the past.

But this turned into something completely different and unexpected and here we are in February 2016, and I think this is one of the best matches I’ve seen this year. I thought it was completely on par with some of the high profile grappling matches you get on the EVOLVE shows now.

There were no wasted motions here. Things keep building and building and building and you get payoffs to spots they were teasing the entire match. You get limb work and Colby Corino had some of the best selling I can remember in quite sometime. And there was a spot I’ve never seen before in a match – Yehi seemingly “breaks” Colby’s fingers mid-match so Colby rolls outside, finds some athletic tape, tapes those fingers up, and gets back to work.

Genius. Absolutely genius.

When I heard this match had happened, I was fired up. I’m glad it made tape as quick as it did. This was so much more than I expected. I loved, loved, loved this match.

As on February 16, 2016, Fred Yehi may be one of the best wrestlers on earth. And that Corino kid ain’t so bad either.

****3/4

Leave a Reply

