Skip to content
August 9, 2015 / TJ Hawke

Rey Mysterio vs. Myzteziz from AAA TripleMania 2015

rey

I half-watched a few of Rey’s 2015 performances in Mexico a few months back to get a sense of how he was moving. I thought he looked to moving around just fine given that his injuries reached the point where WWE decided to be even more awful than usual by refusing to pay for future surgeries. Thus, I was quite looking forward to this match, as I *believe* (no, I did not take ten seconds to look up whether it was true) this match with TAFKA Sin Cara/Mistico was his first big singles match since departing the WWE.

I am sad to report that I was not all that impressed by Rey’s  outing here. He looked slow, old, and like every movement caused him pain. All those issues contributed to a feeling of awkwardness in the match, but the majority could still be explained by the fact that he was in there with Myzteziz. Myzteziz is just clearly not all that good.

His work on top would only be more uninspired if he sat in a chinlock the whole time. He does not move around with purpose or urgency, and he’s not a compelling performer as a result. That causes a disconnect with the match, and I was not invested in Rey’s comeback after being put to sleep by his opponent. The trading of each other’s finishers was a cool idea at least, and it did not feel forced like it does a lot of the time in wrestling. Rey winning with La Mistica was even a bit of a surprising finish. I just did not care much by that point.

On the bright side, this was still pretty neat to experience. The big Mysterio vs. Mistico match had been rumored seemingly countless times in the WWE, and I was genuinely glad to finally see it.  Now I know that I never need to see it again. (**)

pegg

Simon Pegg promoted M:I:5 for some reason.

rey2

Rey plays a bird in AAA.

Leave a Reply

