Skip to content
April 4, 2015 / dylanwaco

Mark Vandy vs. Justin Myers from NGW 2015

From Dylan Hales:

On August 7th and 8th the first ever (and hopefully first annual) Scenic City Invitational tournament will be held at the Empire Arena in Rossville, Georgia. 

In an effort to get people excited for this tournament and Southern independent wrestling in general, in the weeks leading up to the event, this blog will be looking at matches from each individual participant in the tourney.  We hope you follow along, enjoy the matches, and find some new favorites along the way. 

For more information on the Scenic City Invitational check out their Facebook page

Coming into the Scenic City Invitational, the wrestler I am least familiar with is Mark Vandy.  With the exception of Gunner Miller (who is just starting), I have watched every other wrestler with some regularity for several years at minimum.  In fact, prior to this week the only Vandy match I’d seen was him versus Kongo Kong, and I love Kongo Kong (so of course, I loved the match).

With that in mind, I went into this match almost totally blind, picked it at random, and I’ve got to say I am pretty pleased with what I found.

I have no clue who Myers is, but he looks green and a lot of his stuff in this match looked a bit awkward or clumsy.  That said, I loved Vandy’s early ambush shots, his jawing with the fans, and the different angles from which he threw his punches.  He doesn’t have the most natural delivery, but he took Myers offense the way I would expect a guy who looks like Vandy to handle the highspot-based offense of a guy who is about half his size.

While I did enjoy Vandy’s bumping and reacting, I thought the best portions of this were when he was in control.  A part of this is due to the fact that the strongest aspect of Myers game appears to be his bumping, but more important still is that Vandy has a solid heel presence.  He busted out a nice variety of strikes, dictated the pace well, and his high spots were were novel and unique (nice diving headbutt variation, slingshot suplex, etc.)  I also loved the hot shot transition to set up the initial segment with Vandy in control, as well as the pump kick cut off of a Myers hope spot.

The final run with Myers in control did have some urgency to it, and by the time it was finished, the match had really escalated into something that I would have no trouble calling good.  I even liked the double countout finish, as the crossbody bump through the ropes looked sufficiently crazy to take both guys out of the game and set up for a blowoff match (which appears to have been uploaded to YouTube as of a couple of weeks ago).

This isn’t a home run, or anything close, but Vandy is a guy worth paying attention to and a fitting addition to the SCI.

11540952_529115787241127_2548236503708563314_n

Leave a Reply

