Skip to content
March 7, 2015 / themosayat

Mike Mondo vs. Biff Busick from Boston’s Pro Wrestling Marathon – Day 2 (2015)


Recap from Wrestling Addict:

I think this is my first time watching a Mike Mondo match. This match has a 10-minute time limit. Somebody in the audience attempted to start a “this is awesome” chant before the match began. I assume this means I should expect a great match.

The match started with a few minutes of technical wrestling. I enjoy this style of wrestling because when experts like these guys do it, every counter feels like a big thing and every hold looks like it could finish the match. But I admit it’s not the most exciting of styles for most people. Both guys kept trading submissions while selling the pain executed on them in between. I wish Mondo had used more than just the crossface throughout the match, as it started to feel redundant after the 3rd time. And out of nowhere, the 10 minutes had passed without me (or the crowd, seemingly,) even feeling it, and the bell rang. This felt super underwhelming and disappointing for a minute. Thankfully, both Mondo and Busick asked the ref for 5 more minutes, and the crowd helped them in that until the ref granted them their wish. After the bell rang again, they started trading stiff hits and then some pins and counters until Biff got the win, eventually.

I enjoyed watching this match. It was short but focused and easy to follow. It felt like a fierce competition and made me respect both guys more after it finished.

Match Rating: **1/2

