Skip to content
December 19, 2014 / Reed

Tommaso Ciampa vs. Jonathan Smash from ICW’s For the Family 2014

Review by Reed Benson:

Does your local wrestling promotion have an arrogant, overbearing heel who always seems to get what he wants and never quite receives his comeuppance? Does he berate the fans, win titles through dirty tactics, and prevent your babyface heroes from achieving their goals, all while frustratingly escaping any sort of repercussion?

Then pick up the phone and call “The Sicilian Psychopath” Tommaso Ciampa! Not only will he beat and stretch your hated antagonist nine way to Sunday, but he’ll find a way to both humiliate and disgust him at no extra charge!

Okay, in all honesty, I don’t know anything about Jonathan Smash’s character in ICW or if it lines up with the description in my first paragraph. But watching this match, all I could think about was how outclassed he looked and how I’d love to see one of my local promotion’s heels in his place against a guy like Ciampa.

Ciampa first freaked Smash out by holding a handshake for an extra long time while glaring at Smash with a Hannibal Lecter grin. Then he proceeded to beat him up, and for as short as the match was, it’s quite a beating. He also put him in weird submission holds. The only thing missing was some “Suplex City” action, though I guess that’s not Tommaso’s thing.

The repulsive “highlight” of the match was the “anal spike,” a move I’ve seen Steve Corino do before, but it fit Ciampa’s unhinged character much better here (not that it’s something I ever need to see again, mind you). And as if sticking his thumb in his opponent’s nether region wasn’t gross enough, Ciampa followed it up by putting said thumb in his own mouth.

I don’t wanna talk about this anymore.

Smash got a little bit of offence in at a couple points, but this was mostly Ciampa’s game, and the crowd loved it. Ciampa got the win after a Kryptonite Krunch onto his knee. It was a fun little beating, though I was disappointed I didn’t get to see Project Ciampa.

– Reed Benson

My match review site is here

My wrestling commentary site is here.

Leave a Reply

