Skip to content
March 9, 2014 / themosayat

Rich Swann vs. Mark Andrews from SWE’s New Beginnings 2014

Recap from Wrestling Addict:

I haven’t watched British Bootcamp nor IMPACT yet (as much as admitting that hurts. I promise I’ll get to that!) so, this will be my first time watching Mark Andrews. And I’m a Rich Swann fan, although not really a big one. Both guys came to the ring dancing to their pretty nice entrance theme songs, and I got to admit that this lighthearted atmosphere got me in the mood for this match. The crowd seems to be feeling the same, clapping and chanting “all night long!” with them. I also really adore the British accent, and both announcers here were British, so that’s a bonus for me.

LOL, the crowd chanted “let’s go Malfoy” and I just noticed that Andrews looks exactly like Draco Malfoy! Both men lock up and mat wrestle for a minute, with some fun counters. Swann fakes a dive after Andrews rolled out of the ring and starts back-flipping a few times, and Andrews takes the opportunity to springboard dropkick him. Next, both guys show some of their technical wrestling moves. Swann works on Andrews for a few minutes. Andrews counters Swann, throwing him outside the ring, then dives and catches him with a tornado DDT. Andrews hits a Northern Lights suplex, then goes for a Sky-twister press (Standing corkscrew moonsault) but kinda screws it up and lands on Swann’s body with his face. Swann takes back control and hits a scissors kick, then goes for a Spinaroonie. He goes for a handspring, but Andrews dropkicks him in the face while he’s on his hands. Swann dodges Andrews and hits a handspring cutter. Andrews blocks Swann’s top rope hurricanarana and jumps to hit one of his own. He tries for a shooting star press but Swann rolls away. Swann goes for a standing 450 but Andrews puts up his knees. Swann blocks Andrews and hits a really nice dropkick. Then, he hits a really high frog-splash for the 3 count and the win.

I enjoyed this match quite a bit. I liked Andrews here, though he has to work more on his acrobatic moves as he almost landed on his neck a few times throughout this match. He’s still only 22-years old, so I hope to see better from him in the future.

Match Rating: **1/4

