Skip to content
February 1, 2014 / TJ Hawke

Brian Cage vs. Nick Madrid from Quintessential Pro Wrestling 2014

Nick Madrid was kind of enough to share his thoughts on his match. Follow Madrid on his Twitter and like his Facebook page.

Thoughts from Nick Madrid:

I was beyond honored to be asked to be a part of this card and even more thrilled to be wrestling Brian. I had wrestled Brian a few times in tag team matches while he was a part of Natural Selection but had never had the chance to do it as a single competitor. I almost got that chance before he left Championship Wrestling From Hollywood; we were involved in a 4 way elimination match that looked to be leading to a singles match between us, but it never came to fruition.

Fast forward to the QPro Wrestling show. If we were to play a game of “which one of these is not like the other” and you said “Nick Madrid” you would be a winner. The card was filled with some of the best talent in Professional Wrestling including current WWE star Kevin (Steen) Owens and me. Regardless, I was there with something to prove as I had felt like I had been in a slump for some time. I hadn’t been happy with what I was doing and felt stale. I felt like this would be a great opportunity to turn a corner. But as we know, “the best laid plans of mice and men…”

Wrestling a monster like Brian normally doesn’t go well for most. I was no exception. They call him a machine and that is exactly what he is. I couldn’t keep up despite my best efforts. I got in as much as I could. Maybe even more than I should have. In the end, I, like many was no match for Mr. GMSI as he got his shit in.

Although not going the way I had hoped, this match was indeed an opportunity to turn a corner, just not the one I thought. After this match I realized that I wasn’t the same guy i was the year before or the same one who started 4 years prior. I was just going through the motions and wasn’t respecting the sport I loved the way it needed and the way it deserved. On the way home that night, I decided that I would wrap up any current dates and plans and go on an indefinite hiatus.

I ended up wrestling my last match that July and am currently writing this as I enjoy a nice post nap afternoon session of playing Rescue Bots with my 3 year old son. I got to do more than I ever imagined I would in wrestling, but being a dad and being around for my son and family this past year has been the time of my life.

Post by TJ Hawke:

Nigel McGuinness and Excalibur are on commentary!

This match was mostly about showcasing Brian Cage as the fucking machine that he is. Madrid ended up getting more offense than I expected here, but I think he may have gotten more over in the match if Cage just kept tossing him around like a doll. Madrid resisting the urge to stay down and going back for more would have likely been more unique. With that being said, I am a huge mark for big guys tossing around men smaller than them which makes me quite biased!

Leave a Reply

