Skip to content
June 30, 2013 / TJ Hawke

Drew Gulak vs. Green Ant from Wrestling Is Respect 2013

Recap from TJ Hawke:

I was at this show. It was a lot of fun! I can see myself in the “crowd.”

This was a semifinal match between two of my favorites in the Quest to The Best Tournament.

The match was a battle for control. Gulak managed to violently take Green Ant down with a headlock. Green Ant almost caught Gulak with what looked like a version of the Gannasuke Clutch, but Gulak got to the ropes before his shoulders got to the mat. Green Ant almost got a leg lock, but Gulak got to the ropes again. I saw myself clapping and smiling like a jackass after the next rope break. What’s wrong with me?  Green Ant was repeatedly getting the advantage now. He got a version of the Coquina Clutch. Gulak escaped. Green Ant then got the Cloverleaf. Gulak tried to reverse it into a pin, but Green Ant reversed the leverage: 1…2…3

Green Ant would go on to lose to Biff Busick in the (very fun) finals.

As you might expect, I really dug this match. They worked a really fun pace and did lots of cool sequences.  I liked the idea of Green Ant having the upper hand, and Green Ant was able to catch Gulak with the winning pin the moment Gulak managed to get a significant reversal.

On a more personal note, I miss Wrestling Is Respect. Come back to Boonton!

Match Rating: ***

Leave a Reply

