Skip to content
October 23, 2004 / TJ Hawke

AJ Styles vs. CM Punk from IWA-MS 2004

This match was for AJ’s IWA-MS Championship.

Post by TJ Hawke:

AJ Styles has almost always been a favorite a mine, but I have almost never liked watching him in extended singles worked at a methodical pace. He just does work in what I consider to be a compelling manner. There’s a lot of physicality and whatnot. It just does not build to anything meaningful. It feels like it’s just doing stuff for the sake of it. These are the kinds of matches that he regularly had in NJPW main events for their world title, and I was disappointed to see it happen in this match.

CM Punk is another person that I have almost always considered myself a big fan of, but he struggles to suck me in at times when there is no story or storyline going on that I care about. So, these two going 25 minutes was just not for me. Most will probably like it much  more than I did though. Punk won with a modified Anaconda’s Vice. (**)

aj

Leave a Reply

