Skip to content
May 26, 2001 / Reed

The Public Enemy vs. The Bad Crew from IPW 2001

Review by Reed Benson:

I used to really enjoy the Public Enemy back in WCW, probably because I liked every babyface not named Prince Iaukea. Watching their old matches now, they don’t really do a lot for me. However, I recall hearing that Rocco Rock (the late Ted Petty) was actually a solid in-ring worker in his previous gimmicks, so I’m often curious to see if that kind of thing ever shines through during his PE matches.

The Bad Crew open us up with a generic backstage promo that ends with angry breathing. When all parties are in the ring, the Bad Crew get upset that PE brought out weapons (even though this is a tables match), so they try to leave. The IPW boss at ringside threatens to fire them if they don’t come back, so they give in.

The match itself is basically weapon shot after weapon shot. Rocco does do a quebrada onto both opponents, so there’s that ring skill I’d heard about. Sadly, that seems to be all I’ll get. Johnny Grunge is busted open on the first trash can shot he takes, and the announcers make a big deal about it. The video quality isn’t good enough to tell if they’re hyperbolizing or not. From there, we get trash cans, chairs, a speed limit sign, a microphone, a road cone, a sleeve of plastic cups, some kind of breakable board, and probably a bunch of stuff I missed all being bounced off of or broken on the heads and bodies of the competitors. I think everyone ends up bleeding. It’s all foreplay to the finishing spot: Rocco Rock doing a somersault senton off of a speaker onto both Bad Crewmen through two tables.

I don’t know your tastes, but if you liked Public Enemy’s WCW brawls but want more blood, this might be up your alley. It’s certainly not as wild or engaging as their matches in ECW with the Gangstas, but those had stories behind them. That’s what this match really lacks.

– Reed Benson

My match review site is here.

I don’t often tweet about wrestling, but I have a Tumbler gimmick for it here.

Leave a Reply

